GAC Members Minority Statement on ICANN Accountability WS1 Proposal

UPDATE February 26, 2016: Updated Minority Statements--Following the publication of the CCWG-Accountability Final Report and its distribution to the Chartering Organizations, those five members of CCWG who had submitted minority statements [available separately here] were given the opportunity to submit revise minority statements. All minority statements are now in Appendix A  (pdf)--embedded below–"Documenting Process of Building Consensus" of the Final Report, including that of GAC member Olga Cavalli, whose minority statement is now supported by 16 governments:
Argentina, Benin, Brazil, Chile, Commonwealth of Dominica, France, Guinea, Mali, Nigeria, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, Russian Federation, The Democratic Republic of Congo, Uruguay, Venezuela:

--end of update--
"Does this [the GAC members' minority statement below] constitute an objectionMy understanding is that only objections can be accompanied by a minority opinion. As the GAC works by consensus, I assume it means the GAC objects. Given Ms Gross Minority statement, it follows she objects. I have objected formally as well and have sent a Minority StatementCan the Co-Chairs please declare non-consensus so we can all get on with our lives? Not only would it be cost saving..." --Dr Eberhard W Lisse, Thu Feb 18 19:35:55 UTC 2016, CCWG member (emphasis and link added)
A few CCWG-Accountability members have filed minority statements in dissent to the CCWG-Accountability Work Stream 1 final proposal now scheduled for final approval at ICANN55 in Marrakech, March 5-10, including a CCWG member appointed by GAC, who filed a minority statement on behalf of nine governments:

[CCWG-ACCT] Updated Minority Statement for the CCWG-Accountability Supplemental Final Proposal on Work Stream 1 Recommendations Thu Feb 18 16:39:44 UTC 2016:

"As a member of the CCWG on Accountability appointed by the GAC [Governmental Advisory Committee], and on behalf of the governments of:

"I am submitting an updated verision of the Minority Statement which I sent yesterday..."
 [revised text of minority statement in embed below and here (pdf)]

Best regards
Olga Cavalli
Argentina GAC Representative
GAC Vicechair

Others also filing minority statements:

UPDATE: Minority statement also filed by ALAC Member Tijani Ben Jemaa: a) "I would like to express my strong opposition to removing the entire board by a decision taken by only 3 SO/ACs under any circumstance ..." (pdf) and b)  "I would like to make this minority statement regarding
Recommendation 6 (Human Rights) - I express my opposition to replacing “within its mission” in the beginning of the proposed text by “within its core value”..." (pdf)

[CCWG-ACCT] Minority Statement of Individual Member Robin Gross (pdf): ".... "The CCWG-Accountability proposal includes a number of important and long over-due accountability reforms including improvements to ICANN’s Independent Review Process (IRP), Reconsideration Request process, board removal rights, and a noteworthy bylaws commitment to respect human rights in ICANN’s operation, among other truly laudable accountability reform measures. However, the long-term harm to a free and open Internet from the proposal’s shifting the traditional balance of power over ICANN in favor of governments and away from the Supporting Organizations and the private sector is a monumental mistake."

[CCWG-ACCT] Appendix H - ASO Minority Statement: "... ASO, we would like to make a minority statement below, not on the recommendations but on "Appendix H: Bylaws Drafting Process & Implementation Timeline". Our statement is related to bylaws drafting process & implementation timeline, and not directly related to contents of the recommendations ..."

*Note: only appointed members (not participants) were permitted to file minority statements. All filed minority statements are in Appendix A (pdf) to the final proposal.

The members of the CCWG-Accountability:

Sebastien Bachollet (Europe)
Tijani Ben Jemaa (Africa)
Alan Greenberg (North America)
Cheryl Langdon-Orr (Asia/Asia Pacific)
León Sanchez (Latin America) – Co-Chair

Fiona Asonga
Athina Fragkouli
Izumi Okutani
Jorge Villa

Jordan Carter (.NZ, AP Region)
Eberhard Lisse (.NA, African Region)
Roelof Meijer (.NL, European Region)
Giovanni Seppia (.EU, European Region)
Mathieu Weill (.FR, European Region) – Co-Chair

Par Brumark (Niue)
Olga Cavalli (Agentina)
Alice Munyua (African Union Commission)
Suzanne Radell (USA)
Julia Wolman (Denmark)

James Bladel (RrSG, North America Region)
Becky Burr (RySG, North America Region)
Steve DelBianco (CSG, North America Region)
Robin Gross (NCSG, North America Region)
Thomas Rickert (GNSO Council, Europe Region) – Co-Chair

Lyman Chapin
Julie Hammer

Bruce Tonkin (ICANN Board Liaison)
Samantha Eisner (ICANN Staff Representative)

For more information on CCWG-Accountability WS1 final proposal, see Domain Mondo: IANA Stewardship Transition, New ICANN CCWG Accountability Timeline.


Domain Mondo archive