US Presidential Race: Iowa Caucus Results, February 1, 2016

Final UPDATE:  Hillary Has Problems, Bernie Has Big Mo, Trump Will Win New Hampshire, South Carolina (video above)
  • Trump received more votes than any Republican presidential candidate in Iowa history other than Cruz. Cruz won it. Ted Cruz winning Iowa is not an upset. As we've said all along, Iowa is Cruz's homefield advantage. But he did a damn great job closing. (Joe Scarborough)
  • Bernie Sanders has pulled off the remarkable feat of the night. He has drawn even with Clinton and is within inches of victory. (Joe Scarborough); It's not clear that we'll ever know with absolute certainty who actually finished 1st among Ds in Iowa, and not sure it matters. (David AxelrodUPDATE: “Clinton won with 700.47 state delegate equivalents, or 49.84 percent. Sanders finished in second place with 696.92 ... or 49.59 percent.” 
Note: In this US election year, Domain Mondo will monitor the U.S. Presidential election for possible impact on the IANA transition. This is the third and final post in a series that began with the #DemDebate on January 17, 2016, and #GOPDebate on January 30, 2016. For more information go to Domain Mondo's Election2016 page.

--original post below--

Both Bernie Sanders (Democrat) and Donald Trump (Republican) are expected to win their respective parties' first primary elections, in New Hampshire, February 9th, but can Bernie Sanders and Donald Trump win in the Iowa caucus voting tonight? UPDATE: see final results here.

Republican Caucus 30 total delegates - Iowa’s 30 delegates are allocated proportionally to candidates based on the statewide vote. Past Winners: Rick Santorum 2012; Mike Huckabee 2008

Democratic Caucus - 52 total delegates - No democratic delegates to the national convention are awarded as a result of the Feb. 1 precinct caucuses. As in recent election cycles, the state's delegates will be elected at district caucuses and at the state convention, which is scheduled for later in the year. The February caucuses will elect delegates to the county conventions currently scheduled for March. Past Winners: Barack Obama 2008 John Kerry 2004

Iowa Caucus Results (Feb 1): LIVE Streaming Video http://www.cbsnews.com/live/

What time do the Iowa caucuses start? 7 p.m. CT. (time convert)
When will the winners (Democrat and Republican) be known? In 2008, the caucuses were called for then-Sen. Barack Obama (D-Ill.) and former Arkansas governor Mike Huckabee (R) by 8:30 p.m. CT. In 2012 it was after midnight before the Republican winner Rick Santorum was determined.

Domain Mondo archive